Bruce, Phillips, Votto up for Aaron Award

Bruce, Phillips, Votto up for Aaron Award

CINCINNATI -- Three Reds hitters have been nominated for your vote for the annual Hank Aaron Award.

First baseman Joey Votto, second baseman Brandon Phillips and right fielder Jay Bruce -- the top three home run hitters on the team -- will get your consideration.

The Hank Aaron Award, presented by Sharp, is awarded annually to the best overall offensive performer in each league, with each club having three nominees. This is the seventh consecutive year that fans have had a voice in selecting the award winners.

Fans can vote through Sept. 15 to determine the club nominee, and then voting will be held Sept. 16-30 to select the winner in each league. The winners will be announced during the World Series.

Last year's winners were Red Sox first baseman Kevin Youkilis and Cubs third baseman Aramis Ramirez. Originally introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th anniversary of Hank Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, the Hank Aaron Award was the first major award to be introduced in 30 years.

In 88 games this season, Votto is batting .316 with 18 home runs and 59 RBIs. He is Cincinnati's leading hitter and his average would be among the National League leaders but he lacks the minimum number of plate appearances to qualify because of a 21-game stint on the disabled list.

Phillips, who is batting .262 with 17 homers and 75 RBIs in 110 games, is the team leader in games played, hits, total bases, triples and RBIs.

Although he has not played a game since breaking his right wrist vs. the Mets on July 11, Bruce is tied with Votto for the Reds' home run lead with 18 this season. He is batting .207 with 41 RBIs in 83 games.

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.