CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Izturis on interference call: 'I wasn't doing anything'

Izturis on interference call: 'I wasn't doing anything'

Izturis on interference call: 'I wasn't doing anything'

CHICAGO -- Getting a start at shortstop on Sunday, Reds infielder Cesar Izturis was involved in a weird play in which he was called for interfering with Padres baserunner Will Venable.

In the seventh inning with Venable on second base, pitcher Mike Leake fired an errant pickoff throw to the covering Izturis. As Venable dove back, the shortstop lunged for the ball and fell on top of the runner's back. As Venable tried to get up, he swung his hand at Izturis' groin area. Venable was awarded third base as umpires ruled that Izturis interfered.

"Maybe he thought I was blocking him," Izturis said of Venable on Monday. "I wasn't doing anything. I just dove for the ball. Maybe he was upset because of that. Yeah, he grabbed me."

Izturis, second baseman Brandon Phillips and manager Dusty Baker all argued the call. Baker's discussion with crew chief Joe West grew heated.

"The umpire said I grabbed him," Izturis said. "I told the umpire and Brandon told him that he was the one who grabbed me."

Venable was thrown out on a fielder's choice ground ball from Alexi Amarista on the next play.

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Mark My Word, and follow him on Twitter @m_sheldon. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{}
{}